RICHMOND- Last year, Brown University’s Dhruv Gaur took the Daily Double route to victory and ultimately ended up reaching the semi-finals of the Tournament of Champions.

This year, Bruno didn’t make the cut. In fact, none of the schools from last year qualified for this years’ competition.

Instead, 15 other schools will get their shot at the top prize as the 2020 Jeopardy College Championship makes its way to the big stage.

A much needed distraction of fun and entertainment during the coronavirus epidemic that has darkened moods of those in quarantine.

The tournament format is simple. Five games with three players each. Winners automatically move on to Round 2. As for the 10 who lose their match, hope is not lost.

The four highest scorers among non-winners will receive a wild-card berth into the semi-finals. At the end of Week 1, nine players will remain. The six who are eliminated, go home with $5,000.

In the semi-finals, there are no second chances unless absolutely necessary (Teen Tournament 2013). It’s win or go-home. Only the winners will advance to the two-day final. The others go home with $10,000.

In the finals, two games will be played. At the end of the two day final, the person with the highest score gets bumped up to $100,000 and be declared the 2020 Jeopardy College Champion.

That player will not only be declared the winner, but they will receive a berth into the Tournament of Champions, AND go home with a trophy in addition to having their name engraved on a larger in-studio trophy that bears the name of every winner in the past. The runner up will go home with a minimum of $50,000 while the third-place finisher receives a minimum of $25,000.

The Schedule goes as follows:

Day 1: Sirad Hassan (Princeton) vs Emma Farrell (Carnegie Mellon) vs Marshall Comeaux (Texas)

Day 2: Nathaniel Miller (Yale) vs Kayla Kalhor (Florida) vs Sophie Casarico (Florida State)

Day 3: Kylie Weaver (Penn State) vs Londyn Lorenz (Ole Miss) vs Alistair Gray (UC San Diego)

Day 4: Xiaoke Ying (USC) vs Beni Keown (Northwestern) vs Joe Coker (Hendrix)

Day 5: Nibir Sarma (Minnesota) vs Natalie Hathcote (Liberty) vs Tyler Combs (Indiana)

Some of these universities have had success in the tournament before: Carnegie Mellon won the title in 2004 and took third in 2002. USC won in 2016, appeared in the final in 2001, and has been a popular participant. Princeton won the title in 2014.

Yale has participated 4 times before with its highest finish being second in 2010 to Boston University. Texas reached the semi-finals in 2000 and 2004. Florida reached the semi-finals in 1992 and 1994. Florida State was the runner up in 2001 to Stanford.

Penn State makes its appearance for the first time since 2007. UC San-Diego makes its third appearance all time having gone as far as the semis in 2007. Northwestern is making its 9th appearance all time, their highest finish being in 1994 at 3rd. Minnesota makes its 4th appearance, having finished in the semis in 2 of their previous three. Indiana makes its third appearance, also going as far as the semi-finals in 2001.

Schools making their very first appearance? Ole Miss, Hendrix, and Liberty. First time on the dance floor should make for a very interesting ride to see how they fare against the others who have had some experience in this competition.

The tournament begins on April 6th on your local ABC station. For folks in Washington DC, 7:30 pm ET on WJLA. There can only be one winner. Let the games begin!!